Experienced Injury Attorneys Fighting for Georgia Clients

Texting While Driving: Not Worth It

Texting and driving is incredibly dangerous. According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, distracted driving killed 3,460 people in just a year 2016. While it may seem harmless to send a quick text to your friend saying that you’re on your way or responding to a funny gif that they sent, texting can take your eyes off the road for about five seconds. Depending on how fast you’re going, that can be the equivalent of driving the length of a football field with your eyes closed.

While we already know that texting while driving is dangerous, many of us still continue to do it despite what the laws (and common sense) dictate.

Texting and Driving is Illegal in the State of Georgia

Texting while driving is illegal in the state of Georgia, and if a driver is caught doing it then he or she will have to pay a fine.

There are two Georgia laws that specifically address texting while driving:

  • Drivers Under 18-years-old are prohibited from any kind of wireless communication while driving. Drivers who have a learner’s permit or a Class D license are not allowed to use any wireless communication while driving. Although in-vehicle navigation systems are permitted, they cannot use a cell phone unless the car is legally parked, or they are using their cell phone to report an accident or crime. If caught using their cell phone, drivers will have to pay a $150 fee and will have one point added onto their driving record.
  • Drivers over 18 are prohibited from reading, writing, or sending text-based communication while driving. Drivers over 18 cannot read, write, or send text-based communication while driving, which includes texts, e-mail, Internet use, and instant messages. There are exceptions, however. Drivers can use these functions while the car is legally parked, and they can also use in-vehicle navigation systems as well as use their cell phones to report an accident or a crime. If caught using text-based communication while driving, drivers will have to pay a $150 fee and have one point added onto their driving record.

Texting While Driving is Extremely Dangerous

It’s hard to believe that something so innocuous as sending a text could be so dangerous, but it can really distract a driver and cause a lot of damage. Here are a few statistics from the DMV that might make you change your mind before you get your phone out in the car:

  • 26% of all car crashes in 2014 in the U.S. involved cell phone use
  • At least 9 people are killed every day because of a distracted driver
  • More than 1,000 people are injured every day because of a distracted driver
  • In 2015, 42% of teens claimed they had texted while driving

Have you been involved in an accident with a distracted driver in Georgia? If the driver was texting while driving, you may be entitled to compensation for your medical bills. Click here for more information about how the Fry Law team can help you and set up a consultation today.

Categories